Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:50 p.m. - 2005-11-29
Thanks MOM!

Today was interesting because all I wanted to do was write. It was the need to express all of what I am feeling but like everyone else - I had to work. Now I have a great job, and I am accomplished in my field but I can honestly say that is not my motivation everyday. Ironically, I owe that to my mom.
I moved to New Jersey in my junior year of high school and hated the new school. So much so, I half went to school and barely graduated. Which is shocking coming from the girl that was honor roll, on the drill team, French club, ascendants society, and a peer counselor. Yeah I hated my new school. I became a product of my environment quickly - " I didn't give a f**K.�
I am a firm believer that if you going to do something, you better do the d**n thing. Oh, I wasn't just late for class, I didn't show up. I didn't get one detention, I got 3 of them. I didn't just play low key in the new school, I chilled with the misfits. I had 3 friends that was it. This coming from a girl who came from a school that knew EVERYBODY!!
Anyway, my mother caught on to my antics. She said to me one day (in one of her famous rages) "you need to find an outlet, or I am going to let you out." I signed up for the school paper. The editor was a girl with a black Mohawk, purple side burns, and high-top Doc Martens. The art editor was the school artist who was nerdy but brilliant. The teacher was a quite bookworm and a poet. She sat me down and asked me "What is your passion?" I told her I didn't know. She gave me a poetry book by Sonia Sanchez told me to read it, and come back to see her the next day. I read the book and fell in love with her words. When I came back to class, she asked me again "What is your passion?" I told her "Conflict. Internal and external conflict." She looked at me over her glasses, smiled and said "good. Your first story will be to cover the fight at the school dance last year, and do a progressive follow through to this year." I did the story in 2 days, and got a front-page bi-line.
When I showed the paper to my mother she laughed at me. At first I thought she was making fun of me and stormed off. She came outside and told me that she always knew I was writer, that's why she bought me diaries and journals when I was young. She says, "Quite souls don't express themselves loudly. They just need a place to unleash."
I know that she may never see this and I am still up to my antics - from the bottom of my heart " Thanks mom:) "
P.S. I am still writing:)
Blessings...

Disclaimer: This article does not express the opinions of the literary company of Ciphasoul Communications. The expressions listed are those of the writer, and not those of the corporation. This may offend some but my thoughts are mine. Don't make perception reality - if you have questions don't assume the obvious.
Ciphasoul Communications, LLC 2005 �


0 comments

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!